Kicking Ass and Taking Names

Get your killer heels, sneakers, pumps or lace up your boots. Representing all the women, salute, salute!

Afternoon, my dear readers. I hope all of you have had a good week so far. Mine has flown by really fast, I can’t believe it’s already Wednesday! That’s not a bad thing though because last week was kinda rough for me. In spite of all the old feelings that certain events have brought back to the surface, I wanted to have an uplifting post. So this is going to be for all the other women that need a pick-me-up too. That’s right, we’re having a girl power post! Settle in and embrace your awesomeness, ladies.

tumblr_mh2li2uW7W1qmomc5o1_500

I remember back in the 90’s the major buzzword for the better part of the decade was ‘girl power’. It tried to tell girls to embrace their femininity and be proud of it, this message bleed in all over too. Every facet of my life was filled with fierce women who radiated strength and confidence. Whether it was The Spice Girls singing about female empowerment, the Sailor Scouts preaching female friendship, Buffy being unapologetic about who she was, Kimberly being both girly and kickass; the list could go on for days. The point is though, everywhere you looked women were embracing themselves and wanting others to also. It was an inspiring time to live through as a young girl.

tumblr_lz2dxeCqsl1qiu7fxo1_400

Those influences helped shape me into the person I am today and how I view my womanhood. It has never been something that made me feel like the lesser of two, instead it helped empower me. I may be a very sensitive person or slightly insecure sometimes, but my strength in being a woman makes up for it tenfold. My previous posts will probably give you that impression…I’m a very passionate person.  It’s one of the things that has keep me going through my various struggles, especially in regards to the men in my life.

So put on your warpaint and go seize the day, ladies. And anyone who has a problem with that? Off with their heads!

About diaday

I'm a young woman making my way through life one adventure at a time.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

