Shake It Off

Welcome to 2015, my wonderful dear readers!

A new year for many means a new start, including myself. I apologize for my lack of writing, I hadn’t felt very inspired to in quite a while. I did draft a couple posts, but never got around to editing or publishing them. One was about harassment, inspired by the Sam Pepper scandal and the Hollaback catcalling video. The other was on the recent death of transgender teen Leelah Alcorn. Maybe I’ll still post them? They’re not very uplifting topics, but I think both are important discussions to be had. I’ve been in an activist mood lately. Would you expect anything else from little ol’ me? Gotta keep those brains of yours exercised with my informative rants.

So what have I been up to in the past few months? If only the answer was traveling the world, having passionate love affairs, and drinking margaritas on the beach. I did do some of that mentally, but being a poor college student doesn’t allow for much globetrotting. Definitely did enjoy a few margaritas though. Wink wink, nudge nudge. One new thing is I’ve gotten into reading again! My poor tablet, I’ve worn it down with all the books I buy now. Books are the best escape to me, aside from music. My growing collection consists of a lot of mysteries and thrillers.  Oh, I have a major weak spot for historic fiction too. I also went on a date recently for the first time in forever, to say I was nervous would be an understatement. It went nicely and was really enjoyable though. I thought I did pretty well and was put under the impression it was going places. Then life pulled the “other woman” card on me. Thank god for my good sense of humor and the barbwire fence surrounding my heart. Otherwise, I might be crying into a carton of ice cream right now.

What else? My mental health was vastly improved since last time I wrote on here. So hooray to that!  Also, I’ve tried to find coping mechanisms for my anxiety. I bought this really cute stuffed kitten that makes a calming heartbeat sound when you squeeze it. It’s working so far, I bring it to my job and hide it under my desk. There’s this horrible foreboding feeling in my gut that my boss is going to catch me with it and ask what the hell it is. That will be a fun conversation. My next step in life is sticking to my resolution of working out and eating healthier. I have been doing pretty well about eating salad, an apple, and yogurt almost everyday. I’ve been drinking tons of water too and sneaking in tea when I can. Small steps, but progress.

Well that’s it for now, guys. Look out for those other two posts soon! How has your new year been so far and what are your resolutions, if any?

About diaday

I'm a young woman making my way through life one adventure at a time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

